The pattern to productive living

“Others, like the seed sown on good soil, hear the word, accept it, and produce a crop – some thirty, some sixty, some a hundred times what was sown.”  Mark 4:20.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 20, and Mark 3-4.

Today’s verse, part of a parable, sets up nicely the way we can become productive believers.

The sequence is; hearing, accepting, and then producing.

We are overwhelmed with information.  My resistance to it shows up when I mute all commercials.  I also will use the mute button when I view sporting events.  The flood of words overwhelms me.

There is a need, however, to hear things.  When I am sitting in church and a sermon is being given, I must listen attentively.  I almost always take notes to help this process.  It also helps that I attend a Bible study during the week in which Sunday’s sermon is discussed.

Hearing is one thing but I also take what I hear to heart.  I must accept/believe that what I have heard is true and essential.

The big one, in my opinion, is putting legs to what I’ve heard and accepted as truth.  I was drawn to today’s verse because of this third part.  I have a sea of truths that I believe in.  Many of the truths are explained in detail just an arm’s reach away.  The issue?  Living out the truths in my midst.  Being productive.  Giving evidence of internalized belief.

I must be saturated with God.  My being must be filled to overflowing with Him.  If I am not in that state, then my productivity will reflect it.  I’ll major in the first two parts and minor in the crucial last one.

“Lord, push me into productivity.  Forgive me, I beg, for hearing/knowing but missing the active part.  I love You.  My desire is to be Your servant.  Help me, Father.”

We must live the way Jesus taught us to live.

hw-10-29

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.