Are you adding and/or subtracting from God’s Word?

“He replied, ‘Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites…..’”  Mark 7:6.

“You have a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions!” Mark 7:9.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 22, and Mark 7-8.

I recall a Bible study in which it was decided that a certain New Testament passage was not relevant to our times.

Adding and subtracting from The Word is not a recent development.  Jesus ran into it in today’s verses and confronted the Pharisees over it.

A hypocrite is someone who says one thing yet acts contrary to it.  An honest hypocrite will say something like, “Do as I say, not as I do.”

The Pharisees were so entrenched in their add-on’s to the Old Testament that they were outraged when Jesus told them that they were mistaken.

I must be careful not to build a religious structure.  God’s ways are often unexpected.

Much of church behavior is based on man-created structure.  One church has loud singing, another quiet.  Praying style is different.  If I am comfortable in a certain setting, does that make what’s done in that setting right?

“Lord, I want my worship of You to be clean.  Reveal the obstacles, the sludge that clouds my worship so that I can gets things right.  Help me to understand Your Word.  Help me to rightly represent You in the midst that I’m in this day.  I love You, Father.”

God’s Word doesn’t need your adding or subtracting.

hw-10-31

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.