Getting to the top means getting to the bottom

“But they kept quiet because on the way they had argued about who was the greatest.  Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, ‘Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.’”  Mark 9:34-35.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Psalm 121, and Mark 9-10.

That the “they” in this section of Scripture refers to the disciples is mind boggling!

But wait a second, aren’t we the same way?  We measure ourselves against others all the time.  We find things about ourselves that elevate us above others.  We read more Scripture.  We go to church.  We don’t use bad language.  All comparative stuff.

Note how Jesus changes the measuring device: Your greatness coincides with your level of servanthood.

This is a shocker to our system.  We all want some sort of immediate gratification for what we accomplish and how we perform.  But if we don’t do everything as His servant, then we are missing this teaching.

It is also worth noting (Thanks, William Barclay.) that the disciples wouldn’t even tell Jesus what their discussion was about.  They were too embarrassed to say.

I must learn that everything I do is done before God!  I have no secrets.  The disciples seemed to think that they did and that Jesus wouldn’t know what they were discussing.  But He knew and right away taught them that the greatest must be the greatest servant.

God knows me.  I must think/say/do everything as if He’s in my midst BECAUSE HE IS!  He is indeed the unseen guest.  I must act accordingly.

“Lord, I have things all wrong.  The world does not revolve around me.  I have been making too big of a footprint.  Too eager to make things better for me.  Today’s verses preach just the opposite.  Help me to reframe my thinking and get it right in Your sight.  I need You, Father.”

How did we do regarding being servants today?

hw-11-1

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.