Why you’re missing God’s truths

“Jesus replied, ‘Are you not in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God?’” Mark 12:24.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 23-24, and Mark 11-12.

We find out here why we get things wrong: We do not know the Bible well enough and we underestimate God’s power.

Learning the Bible requires a disciplined approach.  It must be a habit.  We have to choose to make time for reading it each day.

I have been helped by forcing myself to write (in this blog) about a verse or verses that get my attention.  In some cases, I do research on the verses as I try to avoid just reading them and then moving on.

I enjoy hearing sermons on Scripture.  There is so much to be learned.

We underestimate the power of God all the time.  “We fear because we forget God’s sovereignty.” – Tim Keller.

The issue connected to today’s verses was whether there could be a resurrection.  Without an all-powerful God, of course this couldn’t happen.  With God?  All things are possible.

“Lord, I need to know Your Word better.  I also need to realize that Your power is greater than any difficulty I can imagine.  You know what is best.  Help me to know Your Word and Your power in a greater way.  I love You, God.”

We now have the formula for knowing God better.

hw-11-3

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.