Not me!

“Peter declared, ‘Even if all fall away, I will not.’”  Mark 14:29.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 25, and Mark 13-14.

All of us named, “Peter,” cringe at this verse because we know what happens shortly after.

The lesson to be learned is very clear: We are not immune from saying regrettable things.

When Peter said, “I will not,” we can be sure that he meant it.  No one in the group laughed at it, in fact they all echoed the same sentiment.  Jesus would have been the only one who could have laughed because He knew the future.

It is a serious problem to see ourselves strong in our own strength.  We aren’t and I believe that much of our trouble comes when we part company with God and set off on our own.

We may well be capable of great deeds but minus God we are more likely to perform unthinkable deeds.

My walk with God must be persistent.  I must be looking to learn and looking to gain strength from Him.

What should Peter have said?  “Lord, You know me better than I do.  Help me to do what is right.  I love You.”

“Lord, I am weak and in need of You every second.  Forgive me for acting independently of You.  Never goes well and never will go well.  Fill me with You this day, I beg.”

We are all capable of the unthinkable.

hw-11-2

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Mark

Comments are closed.