Low-watt enthusiasm

“It is fine to be zealous, provided the purpose is good, and to be so always, not just when I am with you.”  Galatians 4:18.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 30, Psalm 120, and Galatians 3-4.

The Galatians has become situational enthusiasts of the Gospel.

Paul calls them on this.  Their zeal must be full-time.

I think of how excited I get about Godly things when I attend a weekly Bible study.  Amid kindred spirits, it is easy to be excited about all that I’ll do and say when I leave the study.  Then I leave and my words are harnessed by a drive to fit into where I am.

Paul wasn’t like that.  What he believed reached the surface in all settings.  Good way to get extremely unpopular in a hurry!  But he didn’t want to live any other way.  Consistent zeal for God drove him.

Then there’s me.  What drives me?  If I was accused in court of being a believer, would there be any evidence to back up the charge?  How about you?

I need to be filled with God.  In fact, I need to be filled to overflowing.  That “overflow” will generate a zeal for God that is authentic not construed.

“Lord, direct hits on me in this verse.  I am far too hesitant in speaking of You.  I need You running my life.  I need You calling the shots.  I want that.  I want to love You as You have loved me.  Push me, I beg, in those directions.  You are my God.”

Where are you on the Godly zeal scale?  Ten is the “Paul” level.  Zero is the invisible level.

hw-11-6

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Galatians

Comments are closed.