“You must have no other gods…”

“If I have put my trust in gold or said to pure gold, ‘You are my security,’ if I have rejoiced over my great wealth, the fortune my hands had gained, if I have regarded the sun in its radiance or the moon moving in splendor, so that my heart was secretly enticed and my hand offered them a kiss of homage, then these also would be sins to be judged, for I would have been unfaithful to God on high.” Job 31:24-28.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Job 31-32, and Galatians 5-6.

Job is still trying to figure out how he has displeased God.  He hasn’t realized yet that God will do whatever God wants to do.  Job’s status with God is not indicative of how he has lived.

What I like in this section of verses is Job’s explanation of what a false god is.  To Job it is giving something, other than God, the “kiss of homage.”

That is how we get in trouble: We give other things our loyalty, our kiss of homage.  We will do almost anything to be at peace with them.

Think of work.  Things are going on that you are uncomfortable with.  Your Godly instincts are offended, yet you play along.  Why?  Your work has reached the “god” level.  Your job is more important to you than being loyal to God.  You’ve made your choice.

Solution?  “Lord, I want to be where You want me to be.  I will go/stay where You want me to go/stay.  Direct my path, Father.”

“Father, You indeed know best.  I want to keep in step with Your wishes.  Forgive me for getting out of earshot.  Forgive me for choosing my own courses.  There are false gods along those courses and I want none of them.  Direct me, Father.  I yield to You.  Thank You, Lord, for loving me, a sinner.”

Are we giving other things the “kiss of homage?”

hw-11-7

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.