Learning from mistakes

“Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did.”  1 Corinthians 10:8.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Psalm 122, and 1 Corinthians 9-11.

I must learn from my mistakes and, as this passage adds, from the mistakes of others.

A reading of the Old Testament features tons of stories about terrible things being done and the resulting consequences.

The purpose of the study of history is to help prevent us from making the same mistakes.

Can we learn?  I saw a video clip featuring a yard in which the owner had placed a Trump sign.  Common practice apparently in that neighborhood was stealing political signs.  This particular owner had set up an electrical charger on his sign.  Sure enough, the video showed an aspiring thief coming along and grabbing the Trump sign with the intent of stealing in.  Instead of theft, he ended up with an electrical charge!  The sign stayed and I assume that the aspiring thief did not try again at least in that yard.

We have a history of getting things wrong.  If I stay up late, I’ll be tired (grouchy?) the next morning.  I must learn from my mistakes.

Displeasing God must be nipped in the bud.  If I fall into sin I must take ownership of it, seek forgiveness, and get on the right track going forward.

I must not be content to live for even a second apart from Him.  Sin needs to bother me and it will if I am living close to Him.  If it doesn’t bother me, then my proximity to Him has become long-range.

“Lord, forgive me for my sins.  Forgive me for separating myself from You.  I crave to be close to You.  Prick my conscience when I have strayed so that I can make the needed corrections.  Enable me to rightly represent You this day wherever I am located.  You are my God.”

Still making the same mistakes?  The closer we are to God the fewer we’ll make.

hw-11-11

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Corinthians

Comments are closed.