What do you have to say about that?

“What is the way to the abode of light?  And where does darkness reside?  Can you take them to their places?  Do you know the paths to their dwellings?  Surely you know, for you were already born!  You have lived so many years!”  Job 38:19-21.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading:  Job 37-38, and 1 Corinthians 12.

I don’t know if God laughed when He spoke the words of today’s chosen verses but I know that I do when I read them.

Job has been cruising toward this sort of reaction by his whining about God not understanding his plight.

God does not get into minor details about what has happened to Job.  His style here is to have Job realize that this is not a human-to-human situation.  It is God-to-human and the human side does not have equal standing with God.

Job has no clue about who God really is.  His magnitude.  God’s questions in today’s verse are all easily answered, “I don’t know.”

But God knows.  He created the universe.  He maintains the universe.

Some of the “wise” among us insist that there is no God.  Their answers to the questions Job was asked would be interesting to hear.

The argument that maybe God did make everything, but now has given us the controls, displays an ignorance in how the earth continues to function.  Someone is STILL in control of the universe.

The more I am connected to God the more I realize that He is in charge and that my best posture is to be ready and willing to do whatever He wants me to do.

“Lord, You are great.  Forgive my silly questions about what You are doing or not doing.  You know best.  I cling to You for direction.  I cling to You for discernment.  Guide me, O thou Great Jehovah!”

Do you ever question God?  Job not only did but he got an answer from God.

hw-11-12

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Job

Comments are closed.