Our thoughts mean something

“….and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  2 Corinthians 10:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Corinthians 7-10.

This is my annual return to this verse.

The verse got my attention after reading “Liberating Prayer” by Neil T. Anderson.

Neil makes the point that our thoughts serve a purpose.  Our thoughts reveal what is urgent to us.  They are a way that God gets our attention.

There’s trouble at work and I have a head full of what’s going on there.  I am praying about things other than the trouble at work.  But as I pray the work trouble keeps “interfering” with my thoughts.

What should I do?  Get right with God regarding the troubles at work.  I need to be praying in that direction rather than off a list or over the things I pray for every day.  I can go on to those “other things” but I need to understand that my thoughts are top priority and currently my thoughts are of work troubles.  I must get my head straight with God on those first.

Thoughts pop into my head all the time.  I must get used to praying then about what’s popped in.  Praying without ceasing?

“Lord, restore my relationship to You.  I want it to be spontaneous and never-ending.  I thank You for the books that are part of my His Word For Me library.  Thank You for Neil Anderson’s insights on prayer.  Direct my path, I beg, today.  You are a great God.”

What are you thinking about right now?  That’s what you need to get right with God.  Do it.

hw-11-17

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Corinthians

Comments are closed.