Dreams

“And having been warned in a dream not to go back to Herod, they returned to their country by another route.”  Matthew 2:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 1-4.

Three times dreams are mentioned in Matthew 2; in the chosen verse above, and two other times connected to Joseph regarding Egypt.

Communications from God.  How does He speak to us?  Dreams certainly were the way in Matthew 2.

How else does He speak to us?  Certainly have to mention the Bible.  You read a section and realize that you need to tend to some things or be thankful for some things.

I would add that God speaks through our thoughts.  Those thoughts came from somewhere and they’re trying to get out attention.

Those having the dreams in Matthew 2 responded obediently to what they were told.  Don’t tell Herod.  Go to Egypt.  Come back from Egypt.

If I am contemplating an activity and I start to feel uneasy about it, I need to believe that more consideration needs to take place on my part.  Maybe I’m fearful.  Maybe I’m uncomfortable.  Maybe it’s where I shouldn’t be.  I need to sort it out sometimes in a hurry.

My relationship to God must be close.  If it is then it will increase the likelihood that I will be where I should be and away from where I shouldn’t be.  Without seeking God, I am cruising for trouble.

“Lord, I need to know Your will.  My ways are folly.  Fill me with Your wisdom.  Keep me from independent living.  I want to rightly represent You in every space I’m in.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

How does God speak to you?

hw-1119

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.