The scariest verse in the Bible?

“But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.”  Matthew 6:15.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 5-8.

This verse certainly presents a stark reality, doesn’t it!

In a world where there are enemies, we are asked to do what?

Once again we are confronted with the actuality of our weaknesses.  There is no way that we can pull this off on our own.  In the election aftermath?  Hatred and bitterness abound.

Yet God has expectations.  Why were the Ten Commandments given?  To show what we should be doing.  And as we look at what we should be doing we immediately realize that we aren’t getting it done.

Point?  We are sinners.  We try but we mess up.  We need forgiveness.  And that’s what God gives us…..forgiveness.  How?  A loving God and His loving Son Jesus created a way to rid us of the burden of our sins.  Jesus took our sins to death even though we weren’t alive when it happened.  Our sins are gone.  They’ve been forgiven.  Our task is to live accordingly.

Part of “living accordingly” is to forgive others the way He forgave us.  He forgave everyone not just us “good” folks.

The magnitude of our sinfulness is significant.  We were forgiven plenty.  That is why this verse kicks in: How can we claim to know His forgiveness if we won’t forgive all others?

Am I carrying bitterness toward folks?  If I am, I must ask myself if I am aware of God’s forgiveness and the requirement that I act accordingly everywhere.

“Lord, terrific verse.  I am so in need of being willing to forgive others and not carry baggage with them.  Help me, Father, to get this right.  Your forgiveness was unwarranted yet You did it.  Help me to live in like manner this day.  I love You, Father.”

If you have people that you won’t forgive, this verse should have your full attention.

hw-1120

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.