Tomorrow never comes

“Another disciple said to him, ‘Lord, first let me go and bury my father.’  But Jesus told him, ‘Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.’”  Matthew 8:21-22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 8-10.

It is remarkable to me the number of possible topics that I could have chosen today from Matthew 8-10.

I chose what I did because it forced me to get into commentaries to understand what appears to be a rash statement by Jesus.

Bless William Barclay for shedding light.  By the way, if you are trying to understand Scripture, Mr. Barclay is a wonderful source.

The disciple’s line about burying his father, according to William Barclay, is a reference to procrastination.  What the disciple was saying was, “I can’t do what you want right now.  Later on, I’ll get to it”

Jesus knows our hearts.  Sometimes the moment to do something is now.  There is no tomorrow.

I think of this now in connection to family that I seldom see.  Holidays will bring us together.  Am I willing to speak of God in their midst?  Will I opt for a later time which may never come?

I must be saturated with the Holy Spirit.  That Spirit must be immersed in an ongoing knowledge of God.  Reading His Word and praying without ceasing must be at the head of what I’m about.  Help me, Lord!

“Father, I thank You for today’s chapters in Matthew.  So rich in things to think about.  I need You so desperately.  Take me over.  Forgive me for minimizing You by my neglect.  I want to please You.  Help me, Father.”

What are you waiting for?

hw-1121

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.