Can I get “little” right?

“He told them another parable: `The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his field.  Though it is the smallest of all seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds come and perch in its branches.’”  Matthew 13:31-32.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 11-13.

My task as a believer is to rightly represent God.

Today’s verses make a crucial point in the regard: I must be willing to serve Him in any capacity.

My willingness opens unlimited avenues for God.

In this parable, a tiny seed becomes a large tree that birds benefit from.

My impact for God is directly connected to my no-strings-attached willingness to please Him.

We are all put in places where a Godly mustard seed needs to be planted.  That “seed” should be us.

This continues the theme of being filled with Him ‘round the clock.  I must connect to Him and tremble if that connectedness wanes.  I must be in His presence wherever I’m at, ready to be “planted.”

“O Lord, great parable.  I see the potential that a Godly person can have in a dark place.  I want to be a worthy Godly person wherever I am located.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.  I need You, Father.”

Will we reduce self so that God can plant us in needy places?

hw-1122

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.