“Listen to Him!”

“This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.  Listen to him!”  Matthew 17:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 17-19.

Peter sights Moses and Elijah when he and the other two disciples go up on the mountain with Jesus.

Peter suggests memorializing the three of them.  A voice from the cloud gives today’s chosen verse.

The point of the response is not to minimize Moses and Elijah but instead is to maximize Jesus.

God is the ultimate source of wisdom and knowledge.  I can commune directly to Him.

How easy it is to get drawn into following other “gods.”

I like to read.  I tend to collect books of authors I enjoy.  Currently that means Tim Keller and NT Wright.  Sometimes I will share their thoughts with others but I have found on occasion that “their” thoughts are not well received.  I take offense with that and I shouldn’t.  Why?  The thoughts of TK and NT are not Scripture.  Those thoughts may be profound BUT they also may be misconceptions.

I need to be careful that I memorialize God and not others.  He is the ultimate source of Godly insights.  “Listen to Him!”

“Lord, You are worthy of all praise.  Forgive me for clinging to others for insights that come only from You.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you listening to others rather than God?

hw-1124

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.