Pecking order

“So the last will be first, and the first will be last.”  Matthew 20:16.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 20-22.

God does not do the obvious.

Those of us who have been believers for many years must not assume that we have elevated our status before God.

God knows our hearts.

As soon as we look for recognition for our Godly deeds, we have things all wrong.  Our intention must be to please God and not seek praise.

My life must be so filled with Him that I am driven to love Him in word and deed.

I want to be doing what He wants me to do.  What can I do now in my midst that would please Him?

I must cease looking for “big” things to do.  I must, instead, flit freely into the in-my-midst things.  I must look in the room I am for opportunities to please Him.  How about within the house I’m in?  How about within my family, close and distant?

I spend too much time thinking BEYOND my midst and miss opportunities around me.

“Lord, I love You.  Forgive me for missing opportunities to please You close by.  Prick my conscience to missed opportunities so that my “nearby” sight will improve.  You are my God.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Has God recognized your valuable contributions to His cause?  That had better not be a concern of yours!

hw-1125

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.