Use it (for Him) or lose it

“Then the man who had received one bag of gold came, ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed.  So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground.  See, here is what belongs to you.’”  Matthew 25:24-25.

Feeble excuse, for sure!

“I was afraid to use what you gave me.”  Give me a break!

We are all different.   Our interests and talents are exquisitely dissimilar.  Each of us can do things that legions of others can’t so we must show up and do our part.

We must not undersell the abilities that God has given us.  The individual in the parable did just that.

The goal of believers is to prepare the earth for the Messiah’s return.

I love the clarity of Matthew 24:27 describing the return: “For as lightning that comes from the east is visible even in the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.”  Those who love God will know for sure that this is the Messiah who has returned.

I must use what God gives me and be about His business of earth.  He knows what I’m up to.  Get busy for Him, would you!

“Lord, have Your way with me.  Direct my path.  I surrender control.  Empower me to use what You’ve given me in the midst I’m in.  Forgive me for my restraint.  Cowardly on my part.  I ask, as Solomon did, for Your discernment over my life.  I want to get wrong and right right.  I need You, desperately.  Help me, Father.”

“Hide it under a bushel?  No!”

hwfm-sept-28

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.