Doing the right thing

“My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”  Matthew 26:42.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Psalm 125, and Matthew 26-27.

This is Jesus praying to God.

I always like a verse that has role-model material.

Things don’t always go our way.  We plan and something disrupts it.  We get unhappy, don’t we?

Sometimes we are better off because of the disrupted plan but we don’t usually think that when it happens.

Jesus is determined to do God’s will.  That should be my bottom line too.  “What do You want me to do, Father?”

During a hard time, we may want God to make things easier for us.  Jesus resigns Himself to continuing with the difficult thing.

If I am doing God’s will and things get tough, I can be assured that God knows what’s going on.  He’s with me.

I also must know that if I’m doing my own thing and difficulty shows up, something else is in play there.  God is trying to get my attention.  He is alerting me to my waywardness.  He is not going to be close to me if I am not close to Him.  That mess must be cleaned up first.  In His will, I can feel His presence no matter what comes my way.

“Lord, You know what is best.  Have Your way with me.  In You I have the strength to do what is right in Your sight.  Forgive me for going my own way.  I want to please You.  I surrender to Your Holy Spirit.”

Want to know what to do when things get tough?  Answer found in Matthew 26:42.

hw-1127

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Matthew

Comments are closed.