Where does my help come from?

“We had previously suffered and been treated outrageously in Philippi, as you know, but with the help of our God we dared to tell you his gospel in the face of strong opposition.”  1 Thessalonians 2:2.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Matthew 28, and 1 Thessalonians 1-3.

Paul had plenty of reasons NOT to share the Good News with people.

I do not suffer for my faith.  Why not?  I keep my faith to myself.  I don’t take my faith to places where there would be opposition.

Paul wasn’t like either of those.  He had suffered and yet he persisted in bringing the Gospel to the hostile.

How was Paul able to do this?  Let me hoist this phrase out of today’s verse: “but with the help of our God.”  There’s the key and there is no other.

Paul knew that he needed God’s help and he sought it regularly.  That’s where I, and possibly some readers, differ from Paul; our reliance on God isn’t what it needs to be.

We want to be courageous for Him.  We want others to at least hear the news, but we are likely to be filled with our own limited strength.  We are then limited in what we can do for Him!

My life must be one of seeking Him and finding Him.  Of knowing that in Him I can do what He wants.

“Lord, too often I serve myself and not You.  Forgive me for that folly.  I need You full-time.  Open me to You.  I give free rein to Your Holy Spirit in my life.  Take me over.  Forgive me for concentrating on what I can’t do rather than what I can do with Your help.  I need You now, Father.”

If I am filled with God I will be able to share the Gospel.

hw-1128

 

Leave a comment

Filed under I Thessalonians

Comments are closed.