Help from God

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  We do not know what we ought to pray for; but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.  And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”  Romans 8:26-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Romans 5-8.

Often, we have no idea of what to pray about.

We pray for family but they are distant and the things they face are unknown to us.  So are prayers for them are general…….”Bless so-and-so.”

How easily we forget that God is with us.  We have His Holy Spirit within us.  And in today’s verses we learn the benefit of that relationship.

God, who knows what is going on everywhere, has His Spirit in us interceding for us.  Our trust must be in Him.  He knows what folks really are facing and can intercede accordingly.

Prayer is not my telling God what to do.  It is my recognition that God is in charge and is everywhere.  I recognize that He is on the scene and I am supportive of what He will do there.  I thank Him for loving those I’m praying for.

“Lord, forgive me for trying to dispatch You places.  You are everywhere.  Thank You for the assurance that You know the needs of those I love.  I commit them to Your care.  I let go of my urges to direct You.  I thank You that You have given me Your Holy Spirit to intercede for me correctly.  You are a great God.”

Do you need help praying?  You have the Holy Spirit within you, you know.  He’ll do the heavy lifting.

hw-121

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.