My conduct reflects my relationship to God

“So then, each of us will give an account of ourselves to God.  Therefore, let us stop passing judgment on one another.  Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in the way of a brother or sister.”  Romans 14:12-13.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Romans 13-16.

I need to be tuned into my own behavior FIRST.

How easy it is to concentrate on the behaviors of other believers.

Today’s verses insist that my focus should be off them and on myself.

I have control of my behavior.  I can do and not do.  I can say or not say.  Others are on their own.

It will be a full-time job trying to live as God wants me to live.  It takes time and it takes direction.

The fact that God is watching me should seriously influence my behavior.  How disappointing I must be to Him!  Yet He loves me anyhow.  I owe Him everything I have and should be returning that love in the way I behave.

My harshest judgments are for those in my midst and those long-range enough that they are unaware of my judgments.  Both of them need to cease at once because they are wrong before God.

I will be accountable for what I do, not for others.  They have that responsibility.

“Lord, forgive me for concentrating too much on what others do.  I stand before you needing to focus on my life before You.  Cleanse me, I beg.  Open my ways to Your Holy Spirit, I pray.  I love You, Father.”

Get yourself straight.

hw-123

Leave a comment

Filed under Romans

Comments are closed.