Hints of sexual immorality

“But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.”  Ephesians 5:3.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Ephesians 5-6, and Psalm 119:1-80.

The key word in today’s verse is “hint.”

So many believers give themselves a pass in verses such as today’s, until they are confronted with “hint.”

We aren’t visiting brothels or sleeping around.  We’re good on this one, or are we?  Minus “hint,” I suspect that most of us are.

We must be confronted with this pesky verse (Matthew 5:28): “But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.”

Add that verse and even looking means something.  I think that is where the hinting part kicks in; we often look at things that expose us as being sexually immoral.

Those of us active on the internet are deluged by sidebars trying to entice us into sexually immoral places.  We have to click on them to get there…….we must NOT.

I have limited my TV viewing to sports, Hallmark, and occasional news.  That keeps me away from profanity but I am finding that the advertisements on sports are often worth avoiding.

The temptations are all around us.  Only with God dominating our lives can we have the resistance needed.

“Lord, help me to be clean before You.  Prick my conscience when I am tempted to venture into sinful places.   Whack me a good one, if I am in places I shouldn’t be in.  I love You, Father.  Guide me.  Direct me, I beg.”

Are you committing adultery with your eyes?

hw-125

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Ephesians

Comments are closed.