How to be a Godly conversationalist

“Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Colossians 1-4.

Do you have something to say?

Believers possess sure have; the Gospel!  The good news.  We do have something to tell.

But are we able to tell it in a winsome way?  On our own?  No way.  We may win arguments and prove points but without using God-driven words we’re wasting our time.

I am convinced that we speak from a knowledge base that reflects what is important to us.  I know sports.  I read about them.  I think about them.  I have no trouble tuning into folks who are discussing sports.  I even have two blogs (McClelland Miscellanea, Writing Scots) in which I write about sports.

The ease for me in which I talk sports must acquire similar traction in sharing the Good News.  I need to know the Good News as well as I know sports.  It must grab my thought process.  It must drive me.   I must chase the workings of the Good News.

As I write this, I am more aware of why my Good News sharing suffers.  Why I am disappointed in it.  It is a lack of concentration on the Good News.  I must drive myself to be ready to share the faith that is within me.  That faith needs to turn into knowledge and words…..His Words.

“Lord, thank You for Your Word.  I know what I want to be…….rightly representing You.  Help me to get there.  Overtake my life.  Remove the distractions that limit my capacity to share You comfortably in conversations.  I have that comfort sharing sports.  There must be a way for me to acquire a similar comfort in sharing the Good News.  That Way is You.  I beg for Your help.  Thank You, Father.”

Let your words be the overflow of a Godly heart.

hw-127

Leave a comment

Filed under Colossians

Comments are closed.