Saying/Writing something of Godly value

“The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.  Some have departed from these and have turned to meaningless talk.  They want to be teachers of the law, but they do not know what they are talking about or what they so confidently affirm.”  1 Timothy 1:5-7.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Timothy 1-4.

These are great verses for those of us who regularly try to present Godly teaching to ourselves and others.

Today’s verse highlight a starting point.  My love for others must be genuine.  It must be clean of obstacles (sin not dealt with) and it must be an offshoot of a right relationship to God.

If I don’t have those starting points in place, I will enter the “meaningless talk” position as a presenter.  What a waste of time!

I have not pushed this blog onto anyone because I have a discomfort in doing that.  I am not certain that what goes out is always doctrinally sound.  I am, however, aware of the starting points mentioned above.  I pray for wisdom and insights before I do any writing.  I do NOT mention any of this to project the thought that I have things figured out.  I don’t.  I have “shown up” and let things flow as they will.

“Lord, You have enabled all sorts of people to write about You.  I am in that number.  Thank You for the opportunity.  I want Your insights going out on this blog, not mine.  Prick my conscience when I am getting things wrong so that I can make corrections.  I thank You for Your Word and all that I have found out as I look at it, and write about it, regularly.  I love You, Lord.”

Are you serving up meaningless talk?

hw-128

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Timothy

Comments are closed.