The Good News spelled out

“At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures.  We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another.  But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.”  Titus 3:3-7.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Timothy 5-6, and Titus 1-3.

This is the before, during, and after of the Good News.

Sadly, many folks fall into the first category but don’t realize their need for the second.  Their lives are a mess but they don’t receive the “news” that God did something for them that changes everything.

I have received the “news” and I must live accordingly.  I have a new life free because of what God and Jesus did.  I don’t carry around fear of the life after death.  I have been freed from the consequences of my sinful nature by Jesus’ death on my behalf.  I must be driven to please God in everything I do.

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word.  I thank You for the confidence I can have in the Good News.  It happened and it changes everything. I must live accordingly.  Help me, Father, to rightly represent You the rest of this day.  I love You.”

Believe the Good News and live accordingly.

hw-129

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Titus

Comments are closed.