Discovering ourselves in His Word

“For the word of God is alive and active.  Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight.  Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we give account.”  Hebrews 4:12-13.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Philemon, and Hebrews 1-4.

The Bible has a way of sorting out the sheep from the goats.  Certain behaviors are described as deal breakers with God.

It is also true that God knows everything that is going on.  He knows our bottom line.

Therefore, we can use the Bible to sort out our relationship to God for ourselves.  Likewise, we must realize that our motives and behaviors are an open book to God.

I enjoy reading the Bible each day.  Sometimes I find things to be thankful for.  Other times I discover things that I am messing up on while reading about Bible people.  There are plenty of bad examples in Scripture!

“Lord, I want to please You in everything I do.  Open Your Word to me so that I can learn to live right.  Prick my conscience when I am missing what You want to teach me.  I thank You that in everything You are in charge.  You know the beginning and the end and everything in between.  I trust You.  Glory to You, Father.”

You can learn about yourselves reading God’s Word.

hw-1211

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.