Permanent?

“Now there have been many of those priests, since death prevented them from continuing in office; but because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood.  Therefore, he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”  Hebrews 7:23-25.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Hebrews 5-8.

Back in the day, a woman would go to a beauty parlor to get a “permanent.”  When my wife was that woman it didn’t take me long to figure out that her upgraded hair look was anything but permanent!  She would have to go back in a week or so to get another so-called “permanent.”

God raised Jesus from the dead to live forever.  That is truly permanent.

How wonderful that news is to believers: Jesus will always be.  It is indeed a permanent arrangement.  I have His Son Jesus interceding for me before God forever.  He takes no vacations.  He has no down times.  It’s permanent in the truest sense.

I must live out that permanent relationship with God.  It is certainly available for me.

“Lord, I thank You for providing a way for me to have a permanent relationship with You.  Forgive me for messing up my end of it.  I need You every second.  Fill me with Your wisdom so that I have the ability to live out Your qualities in my midst.  I love You, Father.”

Attach yourself to the One who is truly permanent.

hw-1212

Leave a comment

Filed under Hebrews

Comments are closed.