You talked your way into trouble, didn’t you!

“Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.”  James 1:26.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: James 1-5.

I hope that I’m not the only one that this happens to: You crossed the line in something you said and now you face the consequences.  It isn’t, however, the consequences that bother you, it is the fact that it got to that point.

You consider yourself Godly but far too often your words betray you.  Plain and simple: You said things that are ungodly.  You upset someone.  You got into trouble.

I am in the midst of that as I write this.  To make things worse, my words got me in trouble with ungodly folks.  So you have a closet Godly person acting ungodly where ungodly people are…….and being called out.  Embarrassing.  Humiliating.

The timing of the verses I read each day was never better than today’s.  In James, I am called out.  I read, yet again, that my estimations of my spirituality are fraudulent if I am not letting God control (full-time) what I say.

Because God loves me and I love Him, I leave myself open to His corrections.  I needed to know that my recent words were ungodly.  He got His point across to me.

I MUST tighten my grip on Him.  There is no question about that.

“Lord, I am unworthy to be called your servant.  I know, though, that You love me.  I ask for forgiveness because all my sins are sins against You.  Help me to control my words.  Alert me to waywardness.  I need Your presence every second.”

My words are the overflow of my heart.

hw-1215

Leave a comment

Filed under James

Comments are closed.