How to live among the godless

“Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.”  1 Peter 2:12.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 Peter 1-5.

How I react when either I’m in the wrong or others are in the wrong is important.

Many of the godless have negative impressions of the Godly.

Our task is to behave convincingly in their midst.

My recent difficulties among the godless had plenty to do with my own wrongful behavior.  How will I react to correction?  My sinful nature has alerted me to plenty of possible reactions.  Most of them are defensive in nature.  BUT God has higher expectations and from there must come my reactions.

If I am unfairly accused, then I must live on (in God) despite what is being said.  A soft answer may be all that is needed to turn away wrath.

Living close to God is the solution to all of life’s difficulties.  That does NOT mean that the Godly will be spared trouble.  Our hope is in a God who has lifted our burden of sin and has promised us a life forever with Him.

“Lord, You are my hope.  I cling to You.  I beg forgiveness for misbehaving at work and at home.  I love You and crave to rightly represent You in every space.  Empower me to do just that.  Clear away the sludge that impairs me.  I yield to You, Father.”

God tells us how to live.  Are we interested in hearing (and obeying) His instructions?

hw-1216

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 Peter

Comments are closed.