I already have what I need to live a Godly life

“His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.”  2 Peter 1:3.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 2 Peter 1-3, and John 1.

I have spent much of my spiritual life trying to be better.  I have read.  I have listened.  I have prayed.

But here in front of me is a verse that is an eye-opener in that regard: I have what I need!

How does this work?  In God, I start out with everything I need.

Sadly, my searches for more of Him have had me leaving Him.  This isn’t a physical departure on my part but a mental departure.

I will read a book assuming this is an addendum to God.  This is beyond God.  A couple of extra chapters for those in my situation.  All wrong!

An increased knowledge of God is found by realizing that in Him I already have that increased knowledge.  It is already there!  I don’t have to go anywhere to find it.

I must open myself up to His leading.  I want Him to be leading me into what I read or what I watch or where I go.

If He is directing my path, then I will be led to where enlightenment resides.

The course of my life must be specifically surrendered to His direction.  I must specifically seek Him.  I must ask Him to reveal to me the knowledge that I will only discover in Him.  In Him I will have His knowledge.  What a concept!

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word.  I thank You for the enlightenment that what I need I have in You.  Forgive me for chasing You apart from You.  I love You, Lord.”

Stop searching apart from God to find God.

hw1217

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Peter

Comments are closed.