The kind of trust I need

“The royal official said, ‘Sir, come down before my child dies.’  ‘Go,’ Jesus replied, ‘your son will live.’  The man took Jesus at his word and departed.  While he was still on the way, his servants met him with the news that his boy was living.  When he inquired as to the time when his son got better, they said to him, ‘Yesterday, at one in the afternoon, the fever left him’ Then the father realized that this was the exact time at which Jesus had said to him, ‘Your son will live.’”  John 4:49-53.

A remarkable story.  The royal official’s confidence in Jesus is noteworthy.

My takeaway is that I must not limit where Jesus will do things.

I think that one of the ways I limit God is by believing that a person’s spiritual condition has a bearing on whether Jesus will heal them or not.

I think that Jesus measures the faith of the one asking for healing and then acts.

I believe that I can ask God to heal a loved one despite that loved one’s lack of interest in God.

I believe that God heals people who happen to be part of a circle that includes a believer or two.  The best example I can think of in that regard is when the 276 passengers traveling with Paul survived shipwreck.  (Acts 27:24 – “God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.”)

A Godly person has the responsibility to pray for everyone that comes to mind.  I must be pro-active.   Why wait to pray?  Do it right then.

It is impossible for a believer to sit around with nothing to do.  Pray without ceasing.  Why would I ever want to miss out on talking to God?

“Lord, forgive me for limiting You.  For thinking that there are things beyond Your reach.  Forgive me for praying to You occasionally.  There are so many needs.  And I am one of the neediest.  I need You running my life.  I surrender to You now.  Direct my path.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

I must not limit God.

hw-1218

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.