Are you uninformed about Jesus?

“Still others asked, ‘How can the Messiah come from Galilee?  Does not Scripture say that the Messiah will come from David’s descendants and from Bethlehem, the town where David lived?’”  John 7:41-42.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 7-8.

These folks knew Scripture.

I am not so sure that their inquiry skills were so hot, however.

Those asking are aware that the Messiah was to be born in Bethlehem and be one of David’s descendants.

They, unfortunately, dismiss Jesus as the Messiah because they have not investigated His background.  They think that they know enough about Him to reject Him.

Sounds like people in our day.  They know sound-bites about God and consider themselves up to speed on Him.  They aren’t.

The folks in today’s verse weren’t up to speed either.  Jesus was born in Bethlehem.  Joseph was a descendant of David.  Jesus qualified in both counts.

Jesus told the Pharisees (John 8:14), “I know where I came from and where I am going.  But you have no idea where I come from or where I am going.”  This conversation had to do with Jesus being God’s Son and being sent from God to earth but it could just as well have been about His birth in Bethlehem and being in the line of David.

I need God’s intervention to help me understand Him and what He wants me to do.  It is an easy thing for me to turn a misconception into a reality and go astray.

“Lord, Your Word is amazing.  The opportunity to read of people who get it and others who don’t.  I plead for my mind to be opened to Your Will.  I want to get it right.  Prick my conscience when I am off course.  I love You, Father.”

Not sure about Jesus?  Read the Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John).

hw-1219

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.