Who are you listening to?

“When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.  But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.”  John 10:4-5.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 9-11.

Are you easily taken in by the latest spiritual fad?

Do you absorb yourself in one writer before moving onto another?

Do you quote others in your conversations rather than the Bible?

Today’s verses are about tuning into God first.  I can never know His Word well enough.  It is a life-long process getting into it.

I find that at times I will read a passage that I have read many, many times and suddenly I am catching it in a different way than I had before.  I believe that this is God giving insights.

The goal is to know His Word well enough that we recognize Him, or don’t recognize Him, in the other things we read.

I cannot be trusting the words of others if they do not connect directly to God’s Word.  I need His Wisdom in my non-Bible reading.

I need to pray for His insights before I read so that alarms will go off if needed so that I will “run away” as today’s verse tells me.

“Lord, I want to know You better.  I love Your Word.  I ask for insights that will help me to rightly represent You today.  You are a great God.”

Hear His voice when you read His Word.

hw-1221

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.