Do you have Pharisees in your life scaring you?

“Yet at the same time many even among the leaders believed in him.  But because of the Pharisees they would not openly acknowledge their faith for fear they would be put out of the synagogue; for they loved human praise more than praise from God.” John 12:42-43.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 12-13.

Why don’t we freely share our faith?

What keeps us from inserting God into our conversations?

In today’s verses, the “blame” falls on the Pharisees.  The fear in that day was that the Pharisees could give trouble to those who revealed a relationship to God.

I think that this scenario exists today.  How often do we restrain ourselves spiritually when we are with certain people?  We don’t call them “Pharisees,” but let’s face it, we fear how they will react if our faith becomes known to them.

There are also folks in our lives who know we’re believers.  How unconscionable it is that even before some of them, we restrain ourselves spiritually.

Within today’s verses, we get the sad truth for why we behave this way: “they loved human praise more than praise from God.”

My life must be filled with God.  I will function shamefully otherwise.  His Words must be my words.  His Timing must be my timing.  His Way must be the way I am on.

“Lord, I am hesitant where I need to be bold for You.  Forgive me.  I surrender to You.  Take over every part of me, including words and deeds.  Prick my conscience when I’m getting it wrong so that I can change.  I need You every second.  Forgive me for thinking otherwise.  I love You, Lord.”

Will we represent God rightly in the midst of the folks we will be with during the Christmas season?

hw-1222

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.