Can you relate to what happened to Peter in the courtyard?

“’You aren’t one of this man’s disciples too, are you?’ she asked Peter.  He replied, ‘I am not.’”  John 18:17.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 15-18.

Why would Peter do such a thing?  He had been “this man’s” follower for three years.

I think that despite being with Jesus those three years, the disciples really didn’t know Jesus very well.

He was constantly doing and saying things that made them wonder about Him.

Quite frankly, their ultimate trust was not in Him.  Later, when given the Holy Spirit, that changed.

How does this help us understand our own behavior?  I suggest that when we are filled with the Holy Spirit our behavior will be ultimately Godly.  Short of that, we have the capability of being in the courtyard denying that we are even acquainted with Him.

The chasm between flawless obedience and denying Him in the courtyard is so drastic that it behooves us to yield totally to God.  The in-between relationship to Him can be disastrous.  Recall how badly Peter felt when, after denying his relationship to Jesus, he encountered Jesus.

I do not want to plummet to those depths. I must realize that without the Holy Spirit governing me I am capable of such a godless plunge.

My life must be totally dedicated to the Holy Spirit’s leading.  I must seek Him desperately.  I must turn from counterfeit gods.

“Lord, forgive me for the many times I have denied our relationship by the way I live and talk.  I am sorry for that.  I give You my life.  Shake out the sludge that impairs our relationship.  I want You running my life.  I surrender to You now.”

Is your relationship to God strong enough to face challenges?hw-1223

 

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.