Pilate: Weak and Strong

“Finally Pilate handed him over to them to be crucified.”  John 19:16.

“Pilate answered, ‘What I have written, I have written,’” John 19:22.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: John 19-21.

How like us.  One time we’re weak, another time we’re strong.

Pilate caves in to the crowd and thereby sentences Jesus to be crucified by his soldiers.  Later, Pilate has a sign attached to the cross and rejects the request of the Jewish leaders to have it removed.

Same guy, two different reactions.

How often do we win battles and lose wars?  We man up on the lesser things and give way when we could make a real difference.

When will I elevate my relationship to God to the point at which I will stand up for Him full-time?  I find myself representing Him on occasion but too often I play to the demeanor of the crowd.

Pilate realized that Jesus was innocent yet He opted to participate in His death.  When we see/hear something that is wrong, don’t we not have an obligation to do something about it if we can?

One of the (many) great things about the Bible is that it presents good and bad role models.  Pilate covers both sides and I suspect that we are like that.  We have our moments.  The Pilate of today’s verses gets a minor detail right but messes up a major detail.

My life must be attached full-time to God.  If so, my thought process will be aligned to His thought process.  I will then get my decisions right whether they are major or minor.

“Father, over and over again I realize that I cannot please You if I am not controlled by You.  Take me over NOW I beg.  I ask in Your Name relying on Your Word to be fulfilled in me.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Pilate was inconsistent……..and so are we.

hw-1224

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under John

Comments are closed.