How to live

“Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.”  1 John 2:6.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: 1 John 1-5.

There we have it; the guideline for how we should live.

Instead of “What would Jesus do?” we have “What did Jesus do?” as our direction source.

There is no doubt that this verse should draw us to Scripture.  Why?  How else will we know how Jesus lived?

I realize that I have His Holy Spirit within me to fill in the blanks.

Part of Jesus’s “living” involved what He said.

I write often about my need to be Godly.  That is what today’s verse is about: living like Him.

Here are some lines from Brother Lawrence: “Think about God as often as you can, day and night, in everything you do.  He is always with you. Just as it would be rude if you deserted a friend who was visiting you, why would you be disrespectful of God by abandoning His presence?”

God is with me.  He is always within “prayer-shot” of me.  I do not have to go far to connect to Him.  I also can read the believer’s manual (Bible) to help me make choices.

“Lord, the way I must live is clear.  I must live as You did in our midst.  Your Ways are spelled out in Your Word.  Help me to understand what You want me to do.  I surrender to Your Spirit.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

What did Jesus do?

hw-1225

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.