What to pray before reading the Bible

“I am your servant; give me discernment that I may understand your statutes.”  Psalm 119:125.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Psalm 117, Psalm 119:81-176, 2 John, and 3 John.

I read Scripture regularly.

Some of it I understand and other parts I don’t understand.

Today’s verse is my prayer as I read the Bible: Give me discernment as I read it.

Will I be tuned into God enough to learn what I need to learn?

Every day I become more and more convinced that everything I do must be entered in total dependence on Him.  I will mess things up otherwise.

The psalmist realizes His need and I must do likewise.

Discernment elevates the words to the understanding level.  I want that.

I cannot live as I should apart from God.  I cannot understand what He wants me to do apart from His guidance.  How dependent on Him I must always be!

“Lord, I love You and belong to You, help me to understand what You want me to do.  Break Your Word open to me.  I know that it has what I need to know in it.  Take me over, I beg.”

Pray this before reading the Bible: “I am your servant; give me discernment that I may understand your statutes.”

hw-1226

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.