Check your baggage!

“Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline.  So be earnest and repent. Here I am!  I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.”  Revelation 3:19-20.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Revelation 1-4.

We can call on God wherever we are and in whatever condition we are in.

I think that these verses are referring to misguided believers.  They have baggage that hasn’t been dealt with but God has been dealing with it.  Now they are at a junction where action must be taken.

God is saying to them, “You have some things to deal with before our relationship is restored.”  And beyond that God is saying to them, “Get that done and our relationship will be as tight as can be.”

Many of us are willing to do God’s Will but are unable to do it.  Our inabilities are directly tied to our relationship to God.  Our lives must be clean in His sight.  That which encumbers our relationship to Him must be dealt with BEFORE He can freely use us.

There is New Testament Scripture where those preparing to take communion are told to clean up their lives before they partake.  Today’s Scripture falls into the same parameter.

“Lord, enable me to understand that You want clean vessels to use.  I want to be clean in Your sight.  Help me, Father, to do that.  I love You, Lord.”

Get rid of your baggage before You commune with God.

hw-1227

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Revelation

Comments are closed.