Speeding things up with prayer

“As for other matters, brothers and sisters, pray for us that the message of the Lord may spread rapidly and be honored, just as it was with you.”  2 Thessalonians 3:1.

My Scripture reading today was Revelation 15-18.

Today’s verse, to write about, was taken from Chapter One of “A 12-Month Guide to BETTER PRAYER.”

My repetitive reading of E.M. Bounds chapter titled, “Prayer – Its Possibilities,” has driven me to realize how I am the one limiting God.

If things get done because of my praying, why would I pray infrequently?  It should be a drive of mine.  Losing track of prayer is spiritual folly.

What got my attention in today’s chosen verse was the pace that prayer can lead to.  Paul encourages prayer because it will lead to the gospel being spread “rapidly.”

My days are numbered by God.  How long will I be around?  I don’t know.  There are those in my midst who need to either understand the Gospel or to learn to live accordingly.  Those folks need this now.  Will I believe that my praying style can slow, or hasten this, in happening?  What a revelation!

“Lord, I am not praying as I should.  My frequency and urgency are sorely lacking.  I know that You hear and I know that You answer.  What keeps me from acting accordingly?  I need Your help.  Rev up my prayer life.  I love You, Lord.”

My praying pace impacts His answering pace.

hw-1230

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2 Thessalonians

Comments are closed.