Are we excited yet?

“The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told.”  Luke 2:20.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 3-5, and Luke 2.

What will it take to get us excited about God?

Think of all the surrounding doubts that the shepherds must have had.  Could they trust the angel?  What would they find in Bethlehem?  How could an infant be the Messiah?

Despite the doubts, the shepherds went to Bethlehem and found where Jesus was.

I just know that there was so much more to this story.  Granted, the shepherds had seen angels but I am quite sure that their visit to Bethlehem produced a host of praiseworthy experiences for them.

Can we imagine what the shepherds heard and saw at the manger?  Whatever those senses sensed were more than enough to leave a huge impression on them.  They returned home filled with excitement about what God had done.

Excited people are going to bubble over and I am sure that there were plenty of folks who heard the testimony of the shepherds.

Where is my excitement about what God has done in my midst?  Is it business as usual?  Ho, hum.  What a collection of ingrates we so often are.  We can walk.  We can eat.  We can breathe.  And our own list goes on and on.  Yet we are often subdued in our excitement and praise to the One responsible.

“Lord, forgive me for assuming that I have somehow earned the many good things I have.  I haven’t.  You have blessed me.  Make me mindful of the “little” things that I have.  I should be rejoicing non-stop.  Forgive me for asking for Your direction and then complaining when You give it.  What a fool I am!  I love You, Father.”

Have you been excited about God lately?

hw-12

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.