Making time to pray

“Yet the news about him spread all the more, so that crowds of people came to hear him and to be healed of their sicknesses.  But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.”  Luke 5:15-16.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 12-14, and Luke 5.

I need separation from the world.

During tremendous notoriety Jesus sought separation from it.  Why?  Notoriety in the eyes of the world was not what He was after.  He wanted the approval of His Father.

If Jesus realized that He needed to stay connected to God, how much more should I have the same attitude.

I am weak.  I am easily led away from Him.  I am often distracted by unimportant pursuits.

I want to be where God wants me to be.  He knows what is best.  Maybe “His best” is something I might consider mundane BUT maybe it isn’t.  How will I know?  For Jesus, it was found in quiet time of communion with God.

I have time for that communion and you do as well.  I think that it is a mistake to limit God by setting hour “X”, and minute “X”, as the times when it will happen.  God is always by our side.  When I am walking, or driving or lying awake in bed, I can set myself “apart” and pray to God.  You can probably think of other times.  The point is to make time.  That was what Jesus did.

“Lord, forgive me for losing track of You in my busyness.  I require connectedness to You to live as You want me to live.  Open my eyes to times of prayer.  I love You, Lord.”

Jesus found time to pray and so should you and I.

hw-15

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.