Where do the unkind words we’ve been using come from?

“A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart.  For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”  Luke 6:45.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 15-17, and Luke 6.

This could not be more direct: What I say gives away the condition of my heart.

That is so condemning, isn’t it?  We don’t want it to be true.

In a recent verbal problem, I was certain that it was the other person’s fault so I let them have it.  Straightened them out with words.  What I really did was prove that my heart is a godless mess!

My words are supposed to benefit others.  I must think of them as a gift.

My behavior reveals the genuineness of my faith.  Am I on a shaky foundation that spells doom to the house above it?

I must be so attached to God that I use His Words in ALL situations.

I hate it when my words betray my love for God.  My evil words are sins against Him.  He is in my midst.  He knows what I say.  It is all so humiliating.  I feel like Peter when he was so certain that he could be counted on to do the Godly thing.

“Lord, forgive me for using words in a way that they reveal a heart that is not right with You.  I crave a full-time, right relationship to You.  Prick my conscience as You just have done through Your wonderful Word.  I love You, Father.”

What we say reveals our heart’s condition.

hw-16

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.