Abraham messed up

“And Abimelek asked Abraham, ‘What was your reason for doing this?’ Abraham replied, “I said to myself, ‘There is surely no fear of God in this place….’”  Genesis 20:10-11.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 20-22, and Luke 8.

Uh, uh, Abraham!

Abraham used situational ethics for his defense.

Abraham claimed that Sarah was his sister so that the two of them would benefit.  I am not sure how Sarah would have benefitted but she went along with this ploy for her own reasons.

How often do we live in a similar fashion?  We behave according to the situation we’re in.  If laughing at an off-colored joke is appropriate, then we do it.  If rejection of such a joke fits in, then we’re all in to that behavior.

This behavior implies that our relationship to God is situational.  Who are we fooling?  God knows everything.  We may fool those in our midst at the moment but certainly not Him.

We are to live for Him no matter where we are, if we really belong to Him.  It’s must be a full-time, 24/7 relationship.

Abraham, one of the all-time Bible heroes, tried to have it both ways.  Later, God had to bail Abraham out of the trouble he had deceptively gotten himself into.

I must include God in all my plans.  Inviting Him along after I’ve made the plans is folly.  I must have His guidance from the get-go.

“Lord, thank You for the Bible.  We all have feet of clay, even Abraham did.  We need You in all we do.  Forgive me for migrating away from You.  I know better.  Direct my path from the outset.  My life will be a failure otherwise.  I love You, Father.”

Are you a different person in different places?  Folks may be fooled by that routine but God isn’t.

hw-18

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Comments are closed.