“Lord, now that I’m fixed would you fix my family?”

“But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made.  She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”  Luke 10:40.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 25-26, Psalm 6, and Luke 10.

In Luke 12 there is the story of a man who is complaining to Jesus about his brother.  Apparently, the family member won’t share an inheritance.

Today we have a woman complaining to Jesus about her sister.  The sister has chosen not to be helpful.

Isn’t it interesting how Scripture never seems to go out-of-date?  How many of us can relate to being complained about to a higher authority about our behavior?  I know I can, and it was probably deserved most of the time!

The problem with the complaining sister (Martha) is that she was locked into the one-way-suits-all tract.  There were preparations needing to be made but were they more important than face-to-face time with Jesus?  Martha thought so.

If I am centered in God’s will, I will be less inclined to criticize the work of others.  I will lock myself into doing His best in situations.  Understand that it may require asking for help from others.

I find that the more I pray, the less I am inclined to be critical.  If someone comes to mind that you are angry with, start praying for yourself that you will see them as God sees them.  Then pray for them that God will bless them.  It helps, trust me.

“Lord, forgive me for seeing the fallibilities of others and missing my own spiritual inadequacies.  Help me to love others as You love me.  Enable me to live out Your behavior.  I cannot behave this way without total saturation in Your Holy Spirit.  I want that now.  I love You, Father.”

Why are some folks so difficult to work with?  The difficulty is probably with me not them.

hw-110

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.