Turn in the keys……you’re not driving anymore!

“Large crowds were traveling with Jesus, and turning to them he said; ‘If anyone comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters – yes, even their own life – such a person cannot be my disciple.  And whoever does not carry their cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.”  Luke 14:25-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 34-36, and Luke 14.

Total surrender.  That’s what this is about.

God doesn’t want the semi-committed.

The scariest two things for many believers to do include honestly telling God: “I will do whatever You want me to do,” and after finding out what that involves, proceeding to do it.

You listen to Christian music these days and so much of it includes declarations of loyalty to God.  Easy to sing, as we’re caught up in the emotional moments, but how does that loyalty play out on the streets where we live?  Not so easy to live out, is it.

I long for a Godly steadiness in my life.  I want to be doing what God wants but there are so many distractions that turn me wayward.  So much of my life is one step forward and one step backward and then one step forward.  I am wasting so much time.

God wants my words and deeds.

“Father, so often I talk/pray/sing of my love for You yet how often my deeds betray my words.  Forgive me.  Take me over.  Run my life.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

Will you turn your words AND your deeds over to Him?

hw-114

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.