Being a blessing

“From the time he put him in charge of his household and of all that he owned, the Lord blessed the household of the Egyptian because of Joseph.”  Genesis 39:5.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 39-41, and Luke 16.

Can you see the wonderful truth in today’s verse?

Potiphar’s household was godless but God still blessed them.  Why?  Because Joseph was in their household.

We can be in the midst of the godless and God will bless those in our midst.

Understand that Joseph was Godly.  Hear his reply to the advances of Potiphar’s wife: “How then could I do such a wicked thing and sin against God?” – Genesis 39:9.

Joseph was determined to do what God wanted him to do.  That’s the criteria for having a spiritual impact where He has put us.

If I am in a godless setting and there is no evidence that I am Godly, I can’t imagine God pouring out a blessing to the godless in my midst.  However, if I am doing everything I can to be Godly, then those around me may be blessed.

Recall that when Paul was shipwrecked the passengers were saved because Paul was one of them.

We have great responsibility as believers.  We can make things better.  We can have people blessed because of us.  We should crave that.  We should do what we can to make it happen.

“Lord, thanks for showing to me the role-model behavior of Joseph.  I must follow his example and make a total effort everywhere to rightly represent You.  Prick my conscience when I am messing up so that I can quickly change.  I want to please You.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah.”

If you realized that the godless in your midst could be blessed by having you there, would you behave differently?

hw-116

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Genesis

Comments are closed.