Prayer analysis

“Listen to my words, Lord, consider my lament.  Hear my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray.”  Psalm 5:1-2.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 42-43, Psalm 5, and Luke 17.

Do we pray as if we are talking to someone?  I’m not sure that we always do.

If God is omnipresent, and He is, then how would I speak to Him?  Would I even want to do any talking?  Would I just fall on my face in awe of Him?

David sounds desperate in his request.  He role models the knowing-where-to-turn thing.  It is “my” God and “my” King.  He has who God is clearly figured out.

I must approach God the same way.  “I have problems and I bring them to You because You are the almighty problem solver.”  I recognize my neediness and I honor His ability to make my life right in His sight.

Don’t you wonder if we shouldn’t ALWAYS approach God in the fashion that David has here?  Doesn’t anything less suggest that I don’t need Him.  That I will figure “this one” out on my own.  That He isn’t my God and my King.  I must never go there!

“Lord, help me in my every need to turn to You.  Forgive me for trusting myself instead of You for anything.  You are my God and King.  I worship You.  Your greatness overwhelms me.  It makes me cringe at my arrogance when I tell You what should be done.  You know best.  I align myself with You now.  Guide me, O thou great Jehovah, I plead.”

Analyze the way you pray and make changes accordingly.

hw-117

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Psalm

Comments are closed.