Adult-like faith

“Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  Luke 18:17.

Verse chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 44-46, and Luke 18.

The advocated faith in today’s verse is child-like.

A child doesn’t carry the baggage that an adult does.  They don’t have the expertise or experience that we older folks have.

We have wisdom.  We’ve been around the block.  We are likely to be cautious.

However, if something looks good to a child, they are likely to chase it with passion.  Their reservations are minimal.

My relationship with God must have child-like qualities to it.  I need to trust Him with passion.

So many of us “follow” Him with limitations.  We qualify our loyalties.  We put down fleeces before we’ll go along.  God cannot be pleased with any of that semi-committed behavior.

We must be constantly pursuing God.  He is in our midst.  We must do everything to latch onto Him. We cannot sit back and proceed anywhere without Him. Our goal must be to make His Ways our ways.

“Lord, forgive me for my adult-like faith.  Instead, I must understand that I cannot function in a Godly fashion without full and excited attachment to You.  Forgive me for ever living otherwise.  I want to please You.  O how I need You!”

We must trust God completely.

hw-118

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.