We are either productive or unwanted

“He replied, ‘I tell you that to everyone who has, more will be given, but as for the one who has nothing, even what they have will be taken away.  But those enemies of mine who did not want me to be king over them – bring them here and kill them in front of me.’”  Luke 19:26-27.

Verses chosen from today’s Bible reading: Genesis 48-49, Psalm 10, and Luke 19.

Jesus sorts out those He wants and those He doesn’t.

You’re either on board or you’re over board.

We have been given things.  It may be finances.  It may be talents.  It could be anything.  Those gifts from God come to us with requirements: We are to use them for Him.

In this parable, there are some folks who make use of what has been given to them.  Some have plenty while others have less.  Makes no difference.  The expectation is that there will be usage.

In the first of today’s verses, the man has chosen not to use what was given to Him.  The man even rationalized the choice when confronted and had his excuse rejected.

Even worse, in the second verse, are those who intentionally rejected the whole idea of even being involved.

If we are not working for God, He has no use for us.  We don’t belong with Him.  Do you hear His wakeup call?

Those who want nothing to do with God at all will have their wish granted eternally.  Strong stuff, for sure.

“Lord, help me to take an accurate view of what I have.  Enable me to use to the max what You have given me.  Alert me to opportunities for Godliness in my midst.  I want to completely serve You this day.  I must have Your help.  Guide me, I beg.”

How have we worked for God today?  Little things count.

hw-119

Leave a comment

Filed under Luke

Comments are closed.